Leave a comment

Carol’s been reading…

I’m always trying to catch up on the New York Times but I never miss the Sunday Review section, the Wednesday food section, and of course, the book review, which always gives me good ideas about books to order for the store.

I’m a big fan of mysteries and this weekend I read Laurie King’s newest addition to the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series which began so spectacularly with The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. The latest is called Pirate King. If you haven’t discovered this series yet, do start with the Beekeeper’s Apprentice and read them in order.

Steve Almond’s reading last week was a delight and I got caught up reading some of his short stories in “My Life in Heavy Metal.” We were lucky to have him here and word on the street was that he was the highlight of the Get Lit! festival last week in Spokane. Funny, and real, and he even took time to give me some good bookstore advice. If we’re able to establish the celebrity book club at BookPeople, you’ll have Steve to thank.

Travel lit is another of my favorite genres and one of my best discoveries has been Lillian Beckwith, author of The Hills is Lonely, set in the Hebrides islands, where she moved for her health (to the far north of Scotland, for her health??? In any case her health is never really an issue, perhaps she simply needed to escape the rat race). This week I finished The Sea for Breakfast, which is a continuation of the story begun in The Hills is Lonely. If you read much in the travel lit section you’ll discover plenty of writers who are happy to amuse you at the expense of the natives but Lillian truly loves the islanders and pokes as much fun at herself. And, reading about a place where there is hardly postal service, much less telephones or internet, is almost as relaxing as being there. I’ll be adding Lillian Beckwith to the travel section very soon so watch for them there.

Leave a Reply

